Reflection Blog

So this will be my final blog for the science of education module.. haven’t the weeks flown by!

When I chose this module I initially chose it because it had no exam and then I saw it had weekly blogs and thought that writing blogs shouldn’t be too bad. Well several weeks on and I can say that this has been one of my favourite modules over the past three years. The blogs allowed me to pick what I was interested in, in relation to psychology and education of course. I also got to read other peoples opinions on what I had discussed which was really interesting as it allowed me to think from different perspectives. The free topic blogs were my favourite part as it allowed me to pick a brand new topic each week and discuss them any way I liked, whereas when we had to stick with a same topic but expand upon it I found by the third blog I was losing interest. However, that said I learned a lot more in depth knowledge on the topic I chose and found it interesting reading some of my class mates blogs and often wondered what they would write next.

I would recommend anyone to take this module as not only is it new a refreshing to learn what we want to learn, in our own time but the speeches also help improve presentation skills which is handy for the third year project presentations. The only aspect of the module that worried me was uploading my speeches onto YouTube and embedding them into my blog as the thought of everyone seeing my presentations was a little unnerving. Never the less, once I let it sink in a little I am now much less worried about posting my speeches than I was at the start of the module.
To conclude, this module has made me think that new assessment methods are definitely needed and for me personally this assessment method in particular is a great new way to be assessed.

Leave a comment